The Waste (England and Wales) Regulations 2011 will be coming into affect later this year and requires businesses to confirm that they have applied the waste management hierarchy when transferring waste. The hierarchy sets out, in order of priority, the waste management options you should consider:

  1. prevention
  2. preparing for reuse
  3. recycling
  4. recovery, eg energy recovery
  5. disposal.

From 28 September 2011, whenever you pass waste on to someone else, you will have to declare on the waste transfer note, or consignment note for hazardous waste, that you have applied the waste management hierarchy.

For more info, see: